Scientific Achievement Award Winners Announced

Jun 25, 2024

On Tuesday, the IUFRO Scientific Achievement Award (SAA) were presented to five scientists for their outstanding contributions to the enhancement of forestry and forest-related research.

The awardees are Cindy Prescott, Canada; John Sessions, USA; Ge Sun, USA; Chung-Jui Tsai, China-Taipei; and Brenda Wingfield, South Africa.

Brenda Wingfield is a world-leading scientist who has over 450 publications in the field of forest health, specifically around the speciation and evolution of fungi. Her research has been foundational in understanding the population diversity of pathogens that globally cause disease in commercial plantations or natural forests. It has contributed to developing new methods and approaches to manage or control numerous diseases and provided robust scientific data to aid efforts to reduce or prevent the spread of unwanted pathogens internationally.